>Home >About Us >ACA Accreditation

ACA Accreditation


The main purpose of the ACA accreditation program is to educate camp owners and directors in the administration of camp operations, particularly those related to program quality and the health and safety aspects of campers and staff. The standards establish guidelines for needed policies, procedures, and practices. The camp then is responsible for ongoing implementation of those policies.

A second purpose of the ACA accreditation program is to assist the public in selecting camps which meet industry-accepted and government-recognized standards.

Unlike inspections by state licensing bodies, ACA accreditation is voluntary. Accreditation indicates to the public that the camp adminstration has voluntarily allowed its practices to be compared with the standards established by professionals in the camping industry. Licensing focuses on the enforcement of minimum operating standards. Accreditation focuses on education and evaluation of one's operation using standards that go beyong the minimum requirements of licensing. ACA standards identify practices considered basic to quality camping. The ACA accreditation programs serve a broad range of facilities and programs: some primitive, some rustic, others highly developed. Each will have addressed in its own way the concerns identified by the standards. The following NAD camps have been accredited either by the American Camping Association or by the equivalent Canadian Association:

  • Big Lake Youth Camp – Oregon
  • Camp Alamisco – Gulf States
  • Camp Au Sable – Michigan
  • Camp Blue Ridge – Patomic
  • Camp Cherokee – New York
  • Camp Frenda – Ontario
  • Camp Heritage – Iowa-Missouri
  • Camp Hope – British Columbia
  • Camp Kulaqua – Florida
  • Camp Mivoden – Upper Columbia C
  • Camp Thunderbird – South Central
  • Camp Victory Lake – Northeastern
  • Camp Wakonda – Wisconsin
  • Camp Wawona – Central California
  • Camp Whitesand – Manitoba-Saskatchewan
  • Camp Winnekea – Southern New England
  • Flag Mountain Camp – Dakota
  • Foothills SDA Camp – Alberta
  • Glacier View Ranch – Rocky Mountain
  • Indian Creek Youth Camp – Kentucky Tennessee
  • Laurel Lake Camp – Pennsylvania
  • Leoni Meadows Camp - Northern California
  • Mt. Aetna Retreat Center – Chesapeake
  • Pine Springs Ranch – Southeastern California
  • Sunset Lake Youth Camp – Washington